About Macedonia

Republic of Macedonia

Macedonia (Македонија, transliterated: Makedonija), officially the Republic of Macedonia (Република Македонија, transliterated: Republika Makedonija), is a country located on the central Balkan Peninsula in Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia, from which it declared independence in 1991. It became a member of the United Nations in 1993.

Macedonia has a total area of 25.713 km2 (9.928 square miles). The last census data from 2002 shows a population of 2.022.547 inhabitants.

As landlocked country, the Republic of Macedonia is bordered by Kosovo to the northwest, Serbia to the north, Bulgaria to the east, Greece to the south, and Albania to the west. It constitutes approximately the northwestern third of the larger geographical region of Macedonia, which also comprises the neighboring parts of northern Greece and a smaller portion in Bulgaria. The capital city is Skopje, with 506.926 inhabitants according to the 2002 census. Other larger cities: Bitola, Kumanovo, Prilep, Tetovo, Ohrid,Veles, Shtip, Kochani, Gostivar, Kavadarci, and Strumica. It has over 50 lakes, plus sixteen mountains higher than 2.000 m (6.562 ft.).

Saint Jovan Kaneo, Ohrid

Saint Jovan Kaneo, Ohrid

While easily accessible from all points abroad and boasting all the amenities of the Western world, the Republic of Macedonia remains one of Europe’s last undiscovered countries. The country is a natural paradise of lakes, rivers and mountains, where life moves to a different rhythm, amidst the sprawling grandeur of idyllic villages and rich historical ruins that have remained practically unchanged for many centuries.